How to get there

BA has daily non direct flights via London, Emirates has daily flights via Dubia


The electrical supply is 230 volts +/- 10%.  The frequency of the supply is 50 hertz. The three-pin rectangular plug system is used, as in Britain. Adapters are very easy to find.

Currency and banks

On 1st January 2008 Malta adopted the euro as its currency. On 1st February 2008 the euro became the only legal tender currency in Malta and Gozo. Banks are normally open until early afternoon from Monday to Friday, and until midday on Saturday.  Some banks/branches work longer hours.  Summer and winter opening hours may differ.

Business hours

Business offices are usually open from 08.00hrs to 17.00hrs Monday to Friday while some operate on 'half-days' - usually until 14.00 hrs - during July and August. Shops open from 09.00 hrs until 19.00 hrs in the main commercial areas, namely Valletta and Sliema.  Shops generally remain closed on Sundays and public holidays, although certain businesses are open in the main tourist centres.  There are open-air makets one day a week in most towns and villages in Malta and Gozo as well as a daily street market in Valletta (Malta).


Tipping is customary in Malta and a gratuity of between 5% and 10%, whenever good service has been provided, is reasonable.  However if a service charge has already been included in the bill, a tip is not necessary.  If discretion and common sense is used, you will have no problems with tipping, however, it is always worth checking the individual establishment’s policy if you are unsure.



Popular Destinations in Malta

1. Gozo
2. Valletta
3. Malta
4. Mdina
5. Sliema
6. Saint Julian's
7. Marsaxlokk
8. Bugibba
9. Mellieha
10. Vittoriosa
11. Rabat
12. Mosta
13. Comino Island
14. Senglea
15. Dingli
16. Victoria
17. Zurrieq
18. Zabbar
19. Ggantija
20. Gharb
21. Attard
22. Dwejra
23. Xewkija
24. Mgarr
25. Popeye Village
26. Ghajn Tuffieha
27. Hagar Qim
28. Msida
29. Tarxien Prehistoric Temples
30. Birzebbuga
31. Birkirkara
32. Cospicua
33. Marsalforn
34. Siggiewi
35. Mnajdra
36. Mgarr
37. Marsaskala
38. Il- Gzira
39. Qrendi
40. Paola
41. San Pawl il-Bahar
42. Tarxien
43. Zebbug
44. Zejtun
45. Manikata
46. Bahar ic-Caghaq
47. Kalkara
48. Balzan
49. Ghar il-Kbir
50. Xaghra